Great Instrumental Works of J. S. Bach

Transcribed for Solo Electric Bass - Bennett L. Cohen

Back to the Advanced Concepts
Item# BAC020
Book: $ 12.95
While many electric bassists study the Bach cello suites at some point, fewer attempt the sonatas and partitas for unaccompanied violin (BWV 1001-1006). Composed around 1720, the sonatas and partitas display rich polyphonic writing, unlike the simpler monophonic cello suites. This collection features a challenging but rewarding transcription of the complete A minor Violin Sonata (BWV 1002), which fits particularly well on the bass. Also included are the well-known gavotte en rondeau from the E major violin partita (BWV1006) and the complete A minor partita for solo flute (BWV 1013), transposed here to D minor. Finally, an arrangement of the familiar chorale Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring (from BWV 147) takes advantage of the bass's natural and artificial harmonics. Performance notes are included. Written in notation and tablature for the 4-string bass. 56 pages.

Notes on Performance

Sonata No. 2 in A minor for solo violin (BWV 1002)

Partita in A minor for solo flute (BWV 1013)
     Bourree Anglaise

Partita No. 3 in E major for solo violin (BWV 1006)
     Gavotte en rondeau

Chorale from Cantata No. 147 (BWV 147)